Rustup v1.25.1 Release Notes

Release Date: 2022-07-12 // 5 months ago
  • βͺ This version of Rustup reverts a single PR from 1.25.1 and tidies a couple of internal bits of code.

    In brief, it turns out that our optimisation for RUSTC and RUSTDOC cause problems with some tooling which runs under one cargo invocation, but expects to invoke either cargo or rustc without resetting the environment completely. As such, some particularly βͺ confusing error messages ensued, and we decided to revert this one optimisation while we πŸš€ wait to correct things in a future release.

    Thanks go to:

    • Joshua Nelson
    • Manish Goregaokar
    • Robert Collins

    πŸš€ [1.25.1]: https://github.com/rust-lang/rustup/releases/tag/1.25.1


Previous changes from v1.25.0

  • This version of Rustup involves a significant number of internal cleanups, both in terms πŸ“š of the Rustup code and its documentation. In addition to a lot of work on the codebase πŸš€ itself, due to the length of time since the last release this one has a record number of contributors and we thank you all for your efforts and time.

    πŸš€ Rather than list every single merged PR since the last release, we have pulled out a number of highlights to include in this changelog entry. For everything else, please review the repository.

    βž• Added

    • βž• Added rust-gdbgui to the proxy list pr#2811
    • πŸ‘Œ Support rustup default none as a way to unset the default toolchain pr#2831
    • 🏁 Build Rustup for Windows arm64 pr#2835
    • πŸ‘Œ Support Illumos/OpenIndiana platform check on website pr#2839
    • βž• Add info message if self-update is disabled during update pr#2845
    • βž• Added RUSTC and RUSTDOC environment variables for proxied child processes pr#2958
    • βž• Added offer to auto-install VS 2022 pr#2954
    • βž• Added --verbose mode for rustup show pr#2992
    • βž• Added support for --force-non-host to more subcommands pr#2968

    πŸ”„ Changed

    • ⚑️ Updated the opener crate used for rustup-doc pr#2792
    • πŸ”„ Changed the recursion limit for tool/proxy invocation to 20 pr#2812
    • ⚑️ Updated to newer effective-limits crate to reduce "sysinfo not supported" errors pr#2817
    • πŸ– Handle -y more robustly in rustup-init.sh pr#2815
    • πŸ›  Fix infinite recursion in bash completion when rustc not on PATH pr#2833
    • ⚑️ Update macOS aarch64 CI to newer xcode pr#2877
    • ⚑️ Update website to load TTF fonts more effectively pr#2862
    • Retry curl invocations in rustup-init.sh pr#2869
    • πŸ‘ Better handle busybox's wget in rustup-init.sh pr#2885
    • πŸ‘Œ Improve target matching to reduce spurious deprecation warnings pr#2854
    • 🐎 Parse channel manifest only once to improve performance pr#2898
    • βœ‚ Remove trailing slashes from toolchain names pr#2897
    • πŸ‘ Migrate OpenPGP support to Sequoia PGP pr#2847
    • We now send a user agent on http requests to improve compatibility with proxies pr#2953
    • We won't prepend ${CARGO_HOME}/bin to PATH unless it's missing pr#2978

    Thanks go to:

    • δΊŒζ‰‹ζŽ‰εŒ…ε·₯η¨‹εΈˆ (hi-rustin)
    • πŸ‘€ Brian Bowman (Seeker14491)
    • Jon Gjengset (jonho)
    • pierwill
    • Daniel Silverstone (kinnison)
    • Robert Collins (rbtcollins)
    • Alan Somers (asomers)
    • Brennan Vincent (umanwizard)
    • Joshua Nelson (jyn514)
    • Eric Huss (ehuss)
    • Will Bush (willbush)
    • Thad Guidry (thadguidry)
    • Alexander Lovchin (alovchin91)
    • zoodirector
    • Takayuki Nakata (giraffate)
    • Yusuke Abe (chansuke)
    • Wyatt Carss (wcarss)
    • Sondre Aasemoen (sondr3)
    • facklambda
    • Chad Dougherty (crd477)
    • Noritada Kobayashi (noritada)
    • Milan (mdaverde)
    • Pat Sier (pjsier)
    • Matt Keeter (mkeeter)
    • Alex Macleod (alexendoo)
    • Sathwik Matsa (sathwikmatsa)
    • Kushal Das (kushaldas)
    • Justus Winter (teythoon)
    • k900
    • Nicolas Ambram (nico-abram)
    • Connor Slade (basicprogrammer10)
    • Yerkebulan Tulibergenov (yerke)
    • Caleb Cartwright (calebcartwright)
    • Matthias Beyer (matthiasbeyer)
    • spacemaniac
    • Alex Touchet (atouchet)
    • Guillaume Gomez (guillaumegomez)
    • Chris Denton (chrisdenton)
    • Thomas Orozco (krallin)
    • cui fliter (cuishuang)
    • Martin Nordholts (enselic)
    • Emil GardstrΓΆm (emilgardis)
    • Arlo Siemsen (arlosi)

    πŸš€ [1.25.0]: https://github.com/rust-lang/rustup/releases/tag/1.25.0